Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Peace Institute consists of 19 voting members from different corners of the civil society in Flanders. The members have a mandate of five years and are nominated by the Flemish Parliament. In order to guarantee the independence, the broad basis and the necessary expertise of the Institute, the Decree stipulates a well-balanced representation of civil society.

Annemie Charlier
Dirk Rochtus
Reinilde Van Moer
Diane Verstraeten
Axel Delvoie
Raf Burm

Nominated by the political parties

Jan Boulogne
Els Dirix 
Steven Luys
Peter Wouters
Nominated by the Socio-Economic Council of Flanders (SERV)

Prof. Dr. Berber Bevernage
Prof. Dr. Ann Pauwels

Prof. Dr. Tom Sauer
Nominated by the Flemish Interuniversity Council (VLIR) 

Kristin De Winter
Georges Spriet
Bram Vrancken
Nominated by the Flemish peace movements

Khalid Benhaddou
Filip Reyniers
Mieke Van Hecke (Chair)

Co-opted members

Tine Destrooper, director
With advisory vote